Going Places: Côte d’Azur

Je suis très désolé pour mon absence.

I have been a very bad blogger of late. Very bad indeed.

With my new job, and all sorts of other changes in my life, I’ve been too busy to sit down and blog in the evening. However, that’s not what this post is about. This post is about a beautiful little break that Frank and I took to my sister’s place in the South of France. How bad, I hear you cry!

A good few months ago Frank convinced me to place a bet in the Grand National. I had never placed a bet before and was very reluctant to do so. He gave me the €10 and I chose a horse with a very pretty name: “Aurora’s Encore”. That’s right, at 66 to 1, I chose the pretty name, not the quality of the horse. I was trying to illustrate how idiotic gambling is.

I won €450!

So I decided to retire undefeated from the world of gambling and we booked a flight to Nice for August to stay in my sister’s place.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My sister’s apartment is a beautiful little art deco gem in what used to be a hotel. It’s situated right across the road from the beach at Èze-bord-de-mer on the Côte d’Azur. I won’t go into too much detail about the trip because in all honesty there is very little detail to go into. We sunbathed, we slept late, we swam, we went to bed early, we ate delicious food, we went out one night, we briefly saw Monaco and Nice (mostly for the Sephoras in each) and we enjoyed each other’s company after not seeing each other for much of the Summer.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The beach is right across the road from the apartment, and the buses and trains are just a minute away from the door. It’s easy living at it’s finest. Frank went running in the stifling humidity (even though it was only about 28C) every evening. I ran once. Suits me fine. I’ll work out after my holiday thank you very much.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Our little trips into Nice and Monaco were nice (haha, nice… ugh!), even though it rained on our first day in Nice, and Monaco only highlighted how disgustingly wealthy some people are in comparison to the majority of the world. Frank made the point that we could go to certain parts of the world and be considered very wealthy, while in Monaco we woul be very poor. Oh well. Mostly we just enjoyed each other’s company. On our last night my sister’s friend stopped by and got a picture of us, which was much better than the selfies I’d been taking.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Most of all, this trip has strengthened my resolve to take up French again… J’espère que j’aurai le temps

 

Leave a Reply

