Career: Taking a Risk

“If things seem under control, you are just not going fast enough”

– Mario Andretti

It’s been an odd week and a half.

Less than two weeks ago I was getting off the tram after work and I was walking home. I got a call to my mobile phone which was gasping for a little bit of electrical juice and I didn’t recognize the number but, quite unlike me, I decided to answer it anyway. The guy on the other end of the phone sounded very friendly. He was calling me from Salesforce.com. I couldn’t think why it was familiar but I let him continue anyway. He was talking about an internship position which had just become available in his department and he had found my details on LinkedIn.

Now for anyone who has followed my career thus far, you’ll know that I just graduated from an M.Sc in Creative Digital Media in February, have been working in the Irish Senate for the past 2 years, and have been interning in digital marketing for GetBulb. I had been looking for work for a while but with no bites other than the low or unpaid internships. That dreaded word: internship.

I decided to hear him out and see what he had to say about Salesforce. It all sounded quite interesting, they were looking for someone to create webinars for the UK market and they saw that I had some technical video skills, as well as experience in theatre. I really do have quite a mongrel of a CV. Salesforce webinars… this seemed familiar. “Oh that’s how I know the name, I’m subscribed to salesforce on Youtube, for some reason!” I told him.

I explained to this nice young man that while I did find it very interesting, I simply couldn’t jump ship from my current internship and I also couldn’t just leave my job for an internship. He apologized and said “Oh sorry I forgot to tell you it’s paid”. Now I had nearly fallen for that more than once, but it turns out the pay was more than my current job. Nearly twice as much. I’m very intrigued at this stage. As I was going away for the weekend we arranged for an interview on Tuesday evening after work.

The interview was tough, to say the least. I was interviewed by three men from the department, including the manager. They started off pretty easy but soon they took a more aggressive approach, apparently just to see if I could handle it. I wasn’t the biggest fan of this technique but it didn’t phase me too much either. Thankfully it didn’t phase me because they called me within 10 minutes of leaving to tell me that they were offering me the position but that I would have to start on Monday.

This was the most bizarre turn of events I’ve been faced with in a while. I had to explain to my boss in the Senate that I would have to leave. This was a sadness that I didn’t realize would take over me so much. I had been with him from the early days of his campaign, right through to his fight now against the abolition of the Senate. I owe him so much and it felt cruel to leave so quickly. I’ll proudly admit that I shed tears. I don’t see it as a weakness, but as a sign of the cathartic release that comes from passion and hard work. I always worked very hard in that job and I loved it. Sadly it was never going to pay me enough to make a life for myself and my boss knew this. He encouraged me and wished me well. I helped him to find a replacement for the Summer at least.

So now I am just getting settled in with Salesforce and I like it a lot. The people are really nice and there’s a real Google vibe to the place, in that they have lots of free food and all that good stuff that’s really bad but really good too. I’m trying to get my head around the product a little better but I’m working with another intern to get some video done for Thursday. The internship is for three months only, and if I don’t get offered a more permanent position I can always go back to the Senate in October. So perhaps it’s not the risk it may initially seem, but I’m proud of myself nonetheless.

I believe this says it all really…

And for those of you who are just here for the fashion and beauty, the featured image shows my “first day at work” look. I went for very summery natural makeup. On the face I wore L’Oréal True Match Lumi, with Tickled Pink blush by Elf. I used Anastasia Brow Wiz in Soft Brown on my brows. On the eyes I used MAC Bamboo in the crease, Urban Decay Half Baked on the lid, MAC Texture in the outer crease, and a black shadow on the lash line. The lashes were coated in Maybelline Plush mascara. The outfit featured the new ASOS belt, some American Apparel high waist trousers, a Topshop slip, a Zara blazer, my grey Toms shoes and a river island necklace.

There you have it, everyone’s covered now!

Leave a Reply

