usa beauty haul cover

Beauty: My USA Haul

When it comes to online shopping, it’s a skill I’ve become dangerously good at.

A few months ago my mother booked her annual trip to New York to see my brothers and the grandkids. I immediately began researching what I wanted to order online and have delivered to my brother’s place, and what I wanted to have my mom pick up for me. I knew I had to be precise so she wouldn’t have to spend unreasonable amounts of time navigating around extremely helpful shop assistants. Much of what I ordered was either cheaper in the States, or only available in the States. Once again, I was largely influenced in my choices by Jaclyn Hill, among other makeup artists and beauty vloggers/bloggers.

haul collage

First things first. The Target haul. Target is a huge department store in the States that is known for being on the lower end of the expense spectrum. So Jaclyn Hill was the first person I noticed talking about L’Oréal True Match Lumi, but she most definitely wasn’t the last. Here in Ireland we can get L’Oréal True Match and we can get L’Oréal Lumi. But some genius in the States decided that only Americans deserved a combination of the two. I was worried about trying it because I have very oily skin, but since True Match is great for matching the colour of my skin, but is terribly drying for some reason, I figured I’d give it a go. Honestly, I love it. It’s a little darker than my face but blends perfectly and matches the rest of my body. I am in LOVE with this makeup!

l'oreal true match lumi

Next up was the Elf blush. As far as I’m aware Elf is not available here in Ireland and I was told by someone on the MUA subreddit that it might suit me, so it was promptly added to the list. It’s a very subtle pink colour. The pigmentation isn’t great but I actually prefer that when it comes to blush. It gives a little small bit of highlight too which is nice in the Summer instead of the coral shade I’ve been wearing, which can make the overall look a little too orange in Summer.

elf blush pink 2

I also got a nice cheap little eyelash curler from Elf. I don’t usually subscribe to eyelash curlers. I think they’re a bit of a scam. I have quite long lashes as it is and they have a good enough curl. However, this little device definitely makes a difference, and even makes applying mascara a little easier.

elf mechanical eyelash curler

Maybelline Baby Lips has been making a splash in the world of bloggers for a while now. The packaging is cute, which often makes me think that most of the product development time was spent on that. However, I’m a sucker for a trend and having to see for myself. There are lots to choose from, but the girl at Target recommended these two to my mom. One is cherry and has a slight tint to it. The other is a clear sunscreen one. I didn’t realise the cherry one was tinted actually. I spent all day today smearing it all over my lips, outside the lines, enjoying the moisture of it all. Yeah, it took a while to realize I looked like a clown. Nice try, Norah!

maybelline baby lips 2 maybelline baby lips sunscreen

The last item in my Target haul was the Crest 3D White Whitestrips Professional effects. I still haven’t tried these but I have friends who have used them and swear by them. I’ll maybe do a separate post on these.

crest 3d white whitestrips

 

I tried to order some things online from Sephora but alas they order never processed. I wrote down the items and thankfully my mom was able to get them in the Sephora near my brother’s place where she was staying.

sephora haul

First was the Anastasia Brow Wiz eyebrow pencil in Soft Brown. Again, this is a Jaclyn Hill recommendation. You say I have a problem? I say it’s very entertaining and responsible consumer research. It’s very difficult to find an eyebrow colour to suit my very pale skin, but this is fantastic! It’s perfect for a daytime look, where I’m not looking for anything too bold.

anastasia brow wiz soft brown

Of course, Nars Lip Lacquer in Chelsea Girls has been very popular since Kim Kardashian made it so. I heard of it from the internet because I’ve honestly never even seen an episode of the Kardashians and I really don’t know anything about them. South East? North West? Anyway, this is a lovely glossy lip colour, but it’s quite pale. I think it will be lovely layered over some other lipsticks.

nars lip lacquer chelsea girls 2

In order to keep it all in place I decided to try the Urban Decay All Nighter Makeup Setting Spray. Again, I had heard a lot about this miracle and had to see for myself. All I can say is yes, it’s very good, but it’s not as perfect as I thought it would be. Don’t get me wrong, it’s very good. I just think the word miracle is tossed about a little too loosely. Like “random”, or “literally”, or “heatwave” (am I right, Ireland? I mean it’s still only 27 degrees!!).

urban decay all nighter makeup setting spray

Lastly were the Sigma makeup brushes. I say lastly because I’m not showing you the stuff I got in Victoria’s Secret, y’nosey bastards! I got an eye kit and a dupe for the MAC 217 brush, which gave me a nice little bunch. Some of the items in the kit I already head, like the angled brush I use for eyeliner, the pencil brush or the fluffy blending brush. It’s great to have duplicates though because it means less frequent washing and longer-lasting brushes. They also give a free regular eyeliner brush, which means I now own about 3 or 4 of them

sigma eye brushes sigma brushes haul

I got quite excited about trying everything on Tuesday morning, so here’s my little before and after for you. I used the new products for the foundation, brows, lips and blush.

before and after

 

Leave a Reply

