Food: Sweet Potato & Chorizo Hash

There’s a good chance that this is supposed to be a “breakfast only” type of dish, but tonight it fed me for dinner. I knew I had chorizo and sweet potato in the kitchen, so I tried to find a recipe that combined the two and this is what I found. Niamh Shields, who must be Irish with a name like that, blogged this recipe for iVillage and I followed it as best I could.

DSC_0001

 

I gathered my ingredients: Chorizo, sweet potato, onion, tinned tomatoes, coconut oil and an egg.

DSC_0003

I chopped up an onion (a white one, because I didn’t have a red one) and half a sweet potato.

DSC_0005

 

I added coconut oil to the pan and waited for it to melt. Coconut oil is much healthier for cooking with. Some people don’t like the flavour of it, but I barely notice to be honest.

DSC_0006

 

I sliced up about 50g of chorizo, though I could easily eat more myself.

DSC_0008

 

Once the oil was melted I softened the chopped onion.

DSC_0010

 

Then I added the sweet potato and cooked it for about 10 minutes.

DSC_0012

 

I added tomato and let it simmer for about 10 minutes.

DSC_0015 DSC_0017

 

Then I added the egg in the middle and allowed it to cook.

DSC_0018 DSC_0019

 

Then I served it up for myself and inhaled it. Before it sped to my thighs I noticed it was very tasty. This one will be going into the “the way to his heart is through his stomach” repetoire.

 

Leave a Reply

