Food: Spinach Smoothie

This is just a quick wee post on something that is clearly not food, but it’s in that general category so here you go.

Over the last year or so I’ve tried a few spinach smoothies every now and then. Spinach and fresh produce is incredibly cheap in Aldi, and thankfully there’s an Aldi just down the road from my house. I’ve seen so many posts online about the benefits of spinach and how spinach is a very easy thing to integrate into smoothies. I’m not too keen on the idea of vegetable smoothies but I figured I’d give it a shot.

spinach_smoothie1

I really just made up the recipe as I went along, but if I put it in the form of a recipe it looks professional and well thought out.

Spinach Smoothie

  • 1 Banana
  • 10 raspberries
  • 3 strawberries
  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 1 tsp of manuka honey
  • 1/2 cup of water

spinach_smoothie2

I tossed it all into the blender and thought “that looks quite pretty”. But then it turned into this:

spinach_smoothie3

“That looks hideous!”, I thought. But my god, was it delicious! I’m sure it has to be good for you. I’m not entirely sure why but it just has to be. A quick look at the internet tells me that…

  • Manuka honey is an antioxidant
  • Spinach is a very heart-healthy food
  • Bananas are a mood enhancer
  • Raspberries are very high in fiber
  • Strawberries are full of vitamin C
  • Water is pretty damn good too

There you have it, a delicious-tasting, disgusting looking healthy boost for the body

spinach_smoothie4

Leave a Reply

