Food: Chocolate Raspberry Cupcakes

This past weekend I had three days in a row where I was required to bring baked goods to someone’s house. The first was dinner in my boyfriend’s house with him and his housemates on Thursday. The second was a good old fashioned girly sleepover on Friday where we talked about boys and gave ourselves diabetes. The third was a potluck dinner on Saturday with some people from my Masters course.

I knew I wanted to make cupcakes and my reasons were threefold: cupcakes are so in right now; cupcakes are small enough not to over-stuff you; but most of all, cupcakes are easy!!! So off I skipped to Pinterest, where else!

After much searching I thought the idea of a chocolate raspberry cupcake was too delicious not to attempt. There were a couple of recipes that jumped out but they all seemed to use cake mix (cheaters!) or were very light. I wanted a rich, moist cupcake. If you’re going to be bad you might as well do it well, I mean who are you trying to kid? So in the end I combined a moist chocolate cupcake recipe from “Lovin’ From the Oven” with the idea of putting raspberries in the batter, such as “Patty’s Food”, and I genuinely can’t remember where I got the idea for the buttercream.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The Recipe

Cupcakes

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup cocoa
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup hot coffee (or 2 tsp instant coffee in 1 cup boiling water, or simply 1 cup boiling water)

Frosting

  • 2 1/2 cups of icing sugar
  • 115g of butter
  • 115g of cream cheese
  • 2 tsps of seedless raspberry jam
  • Dash of vanilla
  1. I started by lining the cupcake tin with liners. I only lined for 12, though the recipe makes 24. I used the second half of the batter the next day and made just half on the third day. I didn’t preheat the oven yet because I knew I’d be slow.
  2. Because the recipe called for it I mixed all the dry ingredients together first. Strange, but who am I to argue with the professionals?
  3. Next I melted the butter in the microwave and made the coffee. That’s a sentence I never thought I’d type.
  4. Then I added the eggs, butttermilk, butter and vanilla and stirred it all up with the mixer.
  5. Next I slowly added the coffee. My idea of slowly was one have, then the other half. No harm done.
  6. I tried not to over-mix, because I hear that makes your cupcakes less moist and soft. So I began to spoon about a soup-spoon and a half into each liner. Basically a third of the way up.
  7. I thought now was a good time to pre-heat the oven. It’s a fan oven and it heats and cooks very quickly.
  8. I added two raspberries to the batter of each liner. It’s okay to leave it peaking out a bit, the batter rises and covers it.
  9. I allowed them to bake for 16 minutes.
  10. While they baked I made the frosting. I combined the cream cheese and butter until fluffy. Then I added the sugar and vanilla, and beat until combined and fluffy. Then I added the jam and beat til combined.
  11. I tested the cupcakes with a toothpick to see that they were done. When the toothpick came out clean I new it was ready.
  12. I left them to cool for a few minutes, then turned them onto a cooling rack to cool a little longer
  13. I had no piping bag so I just spooned the frosting onto the cupcakes and left it at that.

I didn’t end up getting photos of the finished product. I was in such a mad rush and then they were honestly devoured. The reactions of my friends was either very kind or genuinely good. I thought they were truly diabetically delicious, myself. I have since been asked for the recipe by a two people, so I guess that’s a good sign. I think I’ll hold off on the desserts again for a wee while, it just can’t be healthy! Wheatgrass, anyone?

2 thoughts on “Food: Chocolate Raspberry Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

