Food: Chocolate Guinness Cupcakes

About a month and a half ago I made some chocolate Guinness cupcakes for my boyfriend’s 30th birthday. I found the recipe on Pinterest, where else, while looking for “manly desserts” or something of the sort. Most of his friends have a fairly traditional view on male gender identity (in themselves, that is, not enforced on others) and so I thought Guinness was the perfect thing to get them munching. The recipe on Pinterest was from 2 Sisters 2 Cities, which seems like a great little blog that I need to take another look at.

Well, anyway, those cupcakes went down a storm! I was delighted, really. One particularly eccentric old fella who kind of gatecrashed the party proclaimed “BY CHRIST, THESE ARE F**KIN’ LETHAL!” – so I figured that was testimonial enough to keep them in my repertoire. I made them without the ganache filling for the party but they were still enjoyed.

Last Friday I went to a reunion of college friends with whom I served on the D.U. Players committee. We went to Tim’s beautiful apartment but because we’re all a little broke and couldn’t expect one person to serve up the whole meal, we each brought a little something. I was insanely busy, having done interviews all week, but I managed to make some of these cupcakes again.

I again decided to make them without the ganache, simply because I didn’t have the time. I used my new €40 mixer from Aldi, which isn’t great unless you remove the attachment and do it by hand, but that suits my arthritic little hands just fine.

Below is the recipe I used, pretty much copied and pasted from the original source (linked above) but with measurements made Irish:

Ingredients
Cupcakes
  • ½ cup Guinness (or stout beer)
  • 113 grams unsalted butter
  • 6 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup AP flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • ¾ tsp. baking soda
  • ¼ tsp. + ⅛ tsp. salt
  • 1 large eggs
  • ⅓ cup sour cream
Cream Cheese Frosting
  • 2⅓ cups confectioners’ sugar, sifted
  • 3 tablespoons butter, at room temperature
  • 113 grams cream cheese, cold
Instructions
For Cupcakes
  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees
  2. Place cupcake liners in muffin tins.
  3. In a small sauce pan bring ½ cup Guinness and butter to a simmer. Add in cocoa powder and stir with a whisk until smooth.
  4. In a medium bowl mix together flour, sugar, baking soda, and salt.
  5. Then in bowl of mixer beat egg and sour cream.
  6. Once stout chocolate mixture has cooled slightly, add into the the egg mixture until combined.
  7. Add in dry ingredients and beat on slow then using a rubber spatula lightly fold all the ingredients together.
  8. Divide batter among 12 cupcake tins with a ¼ cup measuring cup or a cupcake scoop.
  9. Bake for 17-18 minutes until toothpick comes out clean. Let cupcakes cool.
Frosting
  1. In the bowl of mixer, add in sifted confectioners’ sugar, and butter and beat on medium with the paddle attachment. Scrape down sides and mix until combined. Add in cream cheese and continue to mix. Turn mixer to medium-high and beat for 4-5 minutes until frosting is light and fluffy.
To Prepare Cupcakes
  1. Once cupcakes are cooled. Top filled cupcakes with cream cheese frosting and decorate with blue sprinkles.

So they turned out a little bit dry because I left them in a little too long, I think. I made the frosting, put it in a bag and waited until I got to Tim’s to pipe them. I tossed a bit of blue glitter (edible, of course) on top. Clodagh, Tim’s girlfriend, has an amazing collection of baking materials in their kitchen. She put my cupcakes on her cake stand so they looked pretty enough to eat. Pity everybody was so full when it came around to dessert, but most of them were eaten at least!

If you’re making any, let me know how you get on with them.

2 thoughts on “Food: Chocolate Guinness Cupcakes

  1. Hi Norah- Thank you for the kind words about our blog, 2 Sisters 2 Cities. We are thrilled to hear our Guinness Chocolate Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting was a hit in Ireland 🙂 Happy baking…

    -m&k

Leave a Reply

